Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In China, English is a compulsory course in primary school, and most children have to acquire this foreign language around 5 or 6 years old. Therefore, they might have a solid foundation about English when they start attending high school. However, is it more advantageous for children to learn a foreign language in a very young age? As far as I'm concerned, the bilingual teaching method, starting in elementary school rather than secondary school, has more merits than its demerits, and let me illustrate my opinion as follows.

To begin with, it is true that some parents might have the doubt that learning a foreign language would undermine children's academic work on other subjects. What I'm trying to say is that students have a wide range of fundamental courses like Maths, Literature and etc in primary school, and their efforts on these courses might be weaken if they still need to acquire a foreign language. In short, parents might question the necessity of bilingual teaching in primary school.

Nevertheless, I thinks there are a massive amount of advantages when it comes to teaching foreign languages in elementary school. Firstly, children could learn the time management in an extremely young age, and it will also benefit for their future development. As I've mentioned, adding the course of a foreign language is actually increasing time spent on academic work, and thereby children have to manage their time efficiently in order to achieve comprehensive development. Briefly, teaching foreign language in primary school could urge children to organize their limited time effectively.

For another angle, applying bilingual teaching method earlier is better for children's understanding towards many other aspects. To be specific, it is commonly accepted that learning a foreign could strengthen our perception on other disciplines like literacy, pure science because some subjects stem from other countries. Throughout learning these languages, children might have the ability to consider what has been taught in a profound ground like the native word for a specialized term. To sum up, it has a deeper influence for children to learn foreign languages in primary school.

In conclusion, children could benefit a lot through bilingual teaching since primary school instead of secondary school, albeit to a couple of opposite opinions from parents. By the way, they could not only obtain time managing capability, but also learn the thinking patterns originating from other languages. This could also be reflected by an old saying 'knowledge is not a burden'.