The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the argument that our high school should not allow teachers to assign homework more than twice a week. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to examine a significant amount of additional evidence.

The first piece of evidence that we need to evaluate is the information about the better overall grades earned by students in Marlee. The article missed the evaluation approaches between Sanlee and Marlee. It is very likely that the overall grades between students from these two schools were not comparable at all. Perhaps i...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.