Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports fo younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When I was in elementary school, my teacher lead us to participate in voluntary work that helps to clean the streets of our community. However, is such unpaid work really necessary for high school students? Some people hold the opinion that unpaid community service should be a mandatory course in secondary school education. Personally, I largely agree with this statement but have certain doubt towards this proposal.

To begin with my skepticism, it is not 100% positive for high school students to take part in voluntary work for the community. To be specific, high school students, especially in my country China, have limited time but various course to learn, and thereby, their time would not be so sufficient if students need to do community service. For example, a survey, conducted in Wuxi No.1 high school, suggests that students there spend almost 12 hours per day on their academic work. Briefly, it would be too exhausting for high school students to undertake any kind of unpaid work.

Nevertheless, there are certainly some benefits resulting from making voluntary community service as a compulsory in high school. Firstly, students might gain the sense of fulfillment and achievement after helping their community such as organizing donations for the vulnerable groups or teaching sports activities for the junior. Theoretically, people are likely to be happy and satisfied if they actually do something to help others voluntarily. In short, this kind of regulation could contribute to the psychological fulfillment of these high school students.

For another angle, students could strengthen themselves when participating in certain voluntary activities. For instance, they could reinforce their own sports skills throughout teaching younger children and learn the truth of love and caring by supporting the disabled people in community. What I'm trying to say is that schooling should not only focus on academic work but also teach senior students about physical activities and moral standard.

All in all, I think the merits of including unpaid community work in high school education outweigh its demerits. Besides, this regulation could be beneficial to the physical and psychological development of senior students. There is also an old saying in China 'Nothing is better than altruistic gesture'.