Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like.Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Colleges and universities often encounter a dilemma: how to distribute limited teaching resources and budgets on a massive amount of subjects. Regarding to this issue, some people think that universities should only teach students practical skills and knowledge like science and engineering, while others hold the opposite opinion. As far as I am concerned, it is somewhat reasonable for schools to focus more on pragmatic education, but they should never put restrictions on students' personal choice.

To begin with, there is no doubt that some students are merely allowed to learn practical disciplines in certain schools. What I'm trying to say is that some universities are determined to cultivate specialists in the spheres of science and technology, and thereby these schools are only apt to offer pragmatic trainings such as vocational training which will help students with their future career development. To sum up, it is more or less justifiable for a couple of schools to provide practical education only if students have the same intention either.

However, what if students themselves crave to learn useful subjects? There is a paradox between these two perspectives about studying whatever they like or useful skills. To be specific, some students' interests are on these pragmatic skills, science and technology in particular, so in this occasion, there are inevitable overlaps as to whether universities should only offer practical disciplines or allow students to choose their favorable curriculums.

For another angle, students should never be subject to study limited subjects regardless of their interests. Otherwise universities are likely to loose their unique attractions as they are supposed to provide comprehensive development according to students' personalities and individualities. In other words, universities should never give up the wide diversity of subjects although some of them, arts and literature for instance, are less practical compared with science subjects.

In conclusion, it is unavoidable for universities to emphasize more on vocational training considering students' future development, yet students should also have the right to get access to other disciplines that they are interested in if they have spare time. There is also an old saying 'Knowledge is not a burden'.