Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

My friends who are studying in European like Germany and United Kingdom would enjoy hot pots in some Chinese traditional festivals like Spring Festival. This is because traditional food could be purchased everywhere with the rapid globalization, and thereby various countries share more similarities. However, whether it is a positive or negative tendency in modern world? From my point of view, the drawbacks of this development outweigh its strong points, and let me illustrate my perspective as follows.

To begin with, there is no doubt that people, working or studying in another country will benefit from these similarities. In other words, international employees or students are likely to confront many barriers when living in other areas. For example, their intake habits and activities in certain occasions are totally different compared with local residents, and they might feel more satisfied and pleasant if they could find something from their hometown. Briefly, this global trend could bring the sense of fulfillment and satisfaction to those international students or employees.

Nevertheless, local culture contexts might be damaged if one country absorbed too much from other countries. What I’m trying to say is that tradition culture might be undermined if local people are more obsessed with those exotic things. Young fellows in China, taken into consideration, are prone to celebrate Western festivals like Christmas rather than our own traditional festivals, and some original activities are forgotten. To sum up, this development between countries could be detrimental when it comes to countries’ own typical culture heritages.

For another angle, what’s the meaning of studying aboard if there is merely any distinction among various countries. In other words, some students want to apply for courses in another country partly because they crave to experience another lifestyle which is greatly different from their own. Therefore, this intention could be frustrated through less distinctions between their hometown and the country that they are living in.

In conclusion, as to the situation that countries are becoming more and more similar, I think it has both merit and demerit. Additionally, whether it is good or not largely depends on people’s attitudes towards it, as an old saying goes ‘everything is double-edged’.