The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A survey in Asia suggests that in contemporary society, a large percentage of young adults lack the ability to lead a group. But how could they reestablish this essential capability, leadership? Some people blame this phenomenon on the fierce competition which we have to confront since we were still children and claim that instead of competition, young people should be impaired more about cooperation which would contribute to the establishment of leadership. From my point of view, the sense of cooperation is truly fundamental, while the awareness of competition is also indispensable when it comes to the development of leadership.

To begin with, there is no doubt that learning how to corporate with others is one essential component of good leadership. To be specific, a good leader is apt to make everything organized, which is to say, he or she need splice one onerous task into small pieces and then separate these divided tasks to his or her subordinates. During this procedure, being good at communicating with staff and articulating tasks to them is what lead to a successful cooperation, and in other words, contribute to an excellent leadership. One counterexample is that if a leader lacks the sense of cooperation and tackle one task by himself, then he would be extremely exhausted and laborious without the help of his subordinates. In short, cooperation is an unavoidable skill that every leader has to equip.

On the other hand, by no means could we ignore the importance of competition in terms of preparing for leadership. This is a fiercely competitive society, so if one firm or one group want to seize one opportunity such as attracting one clientele, they need to defeat other teams. In other words, in order to grasp market opportunity, companies have to gain the ability to compete with other counterparts. But how could they become more competent compared with others? One cardinal ingredient is right strategy decided by leaders, so leaders must preempt a sense of competition first in order to instigate their fellows. For example, if the leader does not want to get involved in market competition, then his or her subordinates are less likely to participate in it too, which could result in the failure of the whole team. To sum up, in order to achieve the triumph of competing with other groups, leaders should be competitive firstly.

In conclusion, it is extremely hard to decide which awareness would contribute to good leadership more, cooperation or competition, since they are both unavoidable parts for the preparation of leadership.