Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Governments often face a dilemma: how to distribute limited resources so as to develop various aspects of their country. Nowadays, it is not uncommon to see many administrations take economic growth as their priority regardless of other categories of progress. From my point of view, it is somewhat reasonable for a couple of governments to consider economic progress as their most essential goal, yet other development, like educational level of citizens and environmental protection, should also be considered.

To begin with economic progress, there is no doubt that emphasizing the significance of it would be the most efficient approach to reinforcing one country. What I'm trying to say is that economy is the foundation of domestic development, without which, other growth is more likely to encounter a stumbling block. For example, our country, China, ignored the essence of economic development in 1970s, and it had almost taken 3 decades for its economy to recover. Briefly, there is nothing wrong about focusing on the development of economy.

Nevertheless, there are many other aspects when it comes to the constructional decisions made by governments, and some of them might also contribute to the economic progress, and vise versa. Take education as an example. Throughout the enhancement of people's educational level, some citizens might be able to exploit sophisticated science and technology to make some achievements. Additionally, certain inventions might not only improve people's welfare, but also help to save the expenditure of developing projects. In short, developing education seems to be a feasible investment for administrations.

For another angle, environmental protection is an indispensable part as to the goals of various governments. By no means could governments underestimate the significance on protecting the environment. To be specific, when facilitating the economic progress, administrations should also make sure that economy is not at the cost of our environment in order to establish the sustainable development.

All in all, it would be better for governments to guarantee that pay attention on various ingredients of progress including not only economy but also domestic educational levels and environmental protection. There is also an old saying in China 'Progress should be based on every aspect'.