The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease the level of violent crime in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a whimsical assumption of what if everyone mimics whatever they come across in a film. It seems like a human nature for audiences to act like those characters in movies or series, so is there a certain connection between violent ingredients in films and crimes in real world? From my point of view, it is somewhat understandable for governments to lesson violence in entertainment media, yet this kind of action might not that desirable in some aspects, and let me illustrate my perspective as follows.

It is true that controlling the quantity of crimes displayed in media would reduce the incidence of crime in reality. What I’m trying to describe is that certain groups of viewers, those aggressive in particular, are possible to commit concrete crimes by simulating the detailed procedures depicted in movies or TV programs. For example, a serial killer murdered more than 30 people during the period between 1993 and 2000 and claimed that he was inspired by a violent movie. In that occasion, it is necessary that the government should restrict violence in media that contains specific details about how a crime is processed.

Nevertheless, violent ingredients should never be interfere too much by the government when it comes to the coherence of artistic expressions. Quentin Tarantino, taken into consideration, is a typical prototype of violent literature and is highly remarked by his violent films such as Kill Bill and Pulp Fiction. In other words, some violent components are indispensable in partial spheres of entertainment industry, especially those films directed by Quentin Tarantino and John Woo. And these movies would lose their unique attractions if violent elements are forced to diminish. To sum up, by no means should the government interfere the amount of violence in art forms that are determined to express violence.

In conclusion, taking measures to control the violent contents in film and television industry has both merit and demerit, and the original consideration of the government regarding to cutting down crime rate in society is appropriate too. Perhaps in the future, the government could come up with a more considerate trail in order to reduce potential crimes without disturbing any art forms.