University should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is not uncommon to see companies recruit equal amount of males and females because they will be offered a lower tax revenue in many countries. This situation might be a symbol of gender quality, but should academic institutions like universities also obey this kind of criteria? From my point of view, I cannot completely agrees with this statement, albeit to certain advantages that it might have, and let me illustrate my perspective as follows.

To begin with, there is no doubt that colleges should enroll the same number of male and female students if they share the absolutely equal academic backdrop. What I'm trying to say is that it is unjustifiable for schools to reject the students because of their gender in an oversimplified way if these students have the same level of learning ability like others. For example, some professors might think that a girl is not suitable for scientific study and offer a rejection letter, and this action should definitely be banned. Briefly, it is totally acceptable to accept equal male and female students with the same learning capability.

Nevertheless, it is inevitable to for universities to accept different numbers of students according to their personal interests. To be specific, some subjects like sports and engineering are more likely to attract male students, while other disciplines related to liberal arts appear to be more ubiquitous in female groups. In this occasion, the applications received by various colleges vary from individual to individual so it is unrealistic for every course to enroll equal male and female students.

For another angle, emphasizing the gender equality too much could be another gender discrimination to some extent. For instance, some college might focus less on the academic qualification of female students because they classify females as vulnerable groups and should be treat differently. In other words, they underestimate women's learning abilities unconsciously, and these situations could be classifies as discrimination upon women either. To sum up, it is unreasonable for colleges to accept equal male and female student due to their biases.

In conclusion, I think that universities are supposed to enroll students according to their learning abilities and academic backgrounds instead of gender differences, and the equal numbers only appears accidentally. There is also an old saying in China 'Nothing is absolutely fair'.