The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the memorandum that this television station should spend more time on weather and local news as its former practice so as to attract more audience and to avoid the lost of advertising revenues. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to analyze a significant amount of additional evidence.

The first piece of evidence that we need in order to evaluate this conclusion is the information about how many complaints received from viewers. It could turn out to be the case, for example, that during the selected time period, there were only one or two complaints collected by the station, but in fact, it had thousands of audience. Subsequently, the sample size in the memorandum could not conclude the authentic responses from its viewers. If it were the case, the mediate conclusion that most of the complaints were related to station's coverage of weather and local news would be seriously weakened.

Secondly, anther piece of evidence that could help us evaluate the conclusion is the causality between the advertising contracts canceled by local businesses and the time devoted to weather and local news. Although they might happen at the same period, we could not make the assumption that less coverage of weather and local news resulted in the detachment of local businesses. It is very likely that there might be an economic depression in this area, and local firms and companies had to cut off the money spent on adverting in order to pass through this tough time. If we were to learn that there is no strong correlation between these two events, it would significantly undermine the conclusion.

Last but not least, in order to firmly evaluate this memorandum, more details are required such as the alternatives to attract more viewers. The mere evidence that views concerns about the coverage of weather and local news doesn't necessarily mean that audience could be attracted by more time spent on these news. Perhaps it was because of the monotonous and tedious hosting style when broadcasting national news that audience were less interested in this television station. If there is no evidence to deny the possibility mentioned above, the finial conclusion that merely restore the coverage would help the station earn more audience would be less justifiable.

All in all, we need to have additional evidence in order to get a more complete conclusion that restoring the former time devoted to local news and weather would attract more viewers and avoid losing business advertising contracts.