Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

English, as a foreign language for our Chinese people, is a compulsory course for students even in primary school. As to the reasons why acquiring a foreign is necessary, opinions vary from individual to individual: some people think it's only for traveling or native working purposes, while others suggest it's not that simple. From my point of view, certainly, mastering a foreign would be advantageous for traveling and working locally, yet there are other incentives, and let me introduce my perspective as follows.

First of all, there is no doubt that it is a prerequisite for people to grasp a native language skill before traveling or working in other countries. Otherwise, they might confront all sorts of barriers, communication in particular, and they are supposed to make preparations in order to address these problems. To sum up, this kind of linguistic skill is absolutely the major reason for people who need to live in another country for a while.

Nevertheless, there are other reasons rather than merely residential aspects when it comes to acquire a foreign language. For one thing, some people are prone to learn languages simply due to their interest. To be specific, they might have interest in an exotic culture and the language is an indispensable part of a culture context. For example, Japanese involves a massive amount of specialized terms that could describe its animated contents, and thereby those obsessed with Japanese cartoons would crave to learn this language. Briefly, people tend to know more about a language sometimes could result from their interest in local culture.

From another angle, even those working in their native country want to obtain the knowledge of a foreign language because it could make them more competent. In other words, they might attend various foreign language tests such as TOEFL and GRE, and then attach these qualifications in personal resumes to make themselves more excellent and outstanding, especially when they are seeking job opportunities in multi-international companies. In short, it could be somewhat useful for personal career development.

In conclusion, people have a wide range of incentives as to studying a foreign language, not only because of traveling ingredients, but also because personal interest and so on.