Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

learning different languages have multiple benefits. work and travel to the world are good reasons to learn a new language, but those are not the only reasons to become bilingual or multilingual.

First of all, learning a second or third language benefits the learner in so many ways. Research has shown that bilingual or multilingual people are intelligent than monolingual people. also, we can increase our brain activity by learning the other country's language. this will make us smarter and sharper. Studies have even shown that learning a foreign language can cure the ailments of dementia. Moreover, in this age of the internet, people who are fluent in a foreign language can find work as translators or interpreters within their country itself. they do not necessarily have to go abroad to use their knowledge of international languages.

Secondly, another merit of learning a foreign language is that it allows us to explore more about the culture associated with that language. language and culture are intrinsically linked. also, it is impossible to understand a foreign culture without learning their language first. we also get to enjoy the literature and music in that language, even though translations are available, but they will never beat the original. For example, the most popular band around the world is the BTS band of South Korea, their song has been translated into many languages, but the feeling of the original song is exceptional.

To sum up, considering all the points mentioned above it is not difficult to see that traveling and working in other countries are not the only reasons to learn a different language, but many other equally compelling reasons to become bilingual or multilingual to get plenty of opportunities to use their foreign language skills in their country itself.