Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

It is socially argued that people learn alien language as a result of employment opportunities or migration, while some believe that it is not the only drive to learn non-native language. This essay agrees that non- native language should merely be learnt if a need arises. Further, the advantages of learning alien tongue will be discussed, as well as the draw backs.

Globally, each country has its own language, which brings on its uniqueness. Therefore, if one purposed to seek employment in a certain nation, the need to study the language of the country intended stay should be fulfilled. For instance, people who want to settle in the European countries are required to do "ielts" for them to be eligible to work or live in the nations.

Furthermore, communication is the paramount reason for articulating language. People speak in a tongue they are comfortable with, especially in their own native country. If a need to migrate arises, thus when a foreign language should be learnt for effective message conveyance. For example people who migrate in Portuguese speaking countries, they should learn to speak that tongue, as it the only language they speak and learn everything.

However, apart from employment opportunities or travel, foreign language can be learnt just to have an appreciation of non-native speakers. Knowledge is power, hence some people can learn other languages such as, french out of interest's sake and be well vexed.

In conclusion, the benefits of studying foreign language outsmart by the drawbacks. It is also time-consuming to acquire non-nation language for no apparent reason. People may end up forgetting the non-native language, as they will not be using it to convey messages frequently, therefore the only need to study alien language is when one wants to travel or seek employment in a foreign nation.