Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both these views and give your o

The phenomena of globalisation has sparked interest in people to explore and experience different cultures. An integral part of which, is the language. Due to this, the number of multilingual people is on the rise however, a certain section of population is still skeptic about learning a new language unless it is necessary for work or travel abroad.

One of the major reason to learn a new language arises when one decides to work or travel abroad. It becomes necessary to be fluent in the language to adapt faster into the teams or to interact with the local habitants. This knowledge, however, is rendered useless if a person is working in his own country while dealing with people in his mother tongue. The lack of regular practice will make a newly learnt language, moot and unusable.

However, if one manages to maintain regular usage of a foreign language, it unlocks their mind to something new. The knowledge of multiple languages helps in development of analytical and problem solving ability in people. Research indicates the people who are polyglot are better in making decisions and solving problems during crisis. In addition to this, the experience of learning a new language is exciting and surreal. Furthermore, it also gives us opportunity to interact and learn from the exchange students at universities or tourists in our city.

Despite the thinking of a faction which still works on the philosophy of not working on things which is not needed, I believe it is a modern day requirement to be able to speak more than one languages. In fact, I am fluent in 2 regional languages and a foreign language apart from English and Hindi. Knowing more than one language, also adds to one’s employability. For instance, the premier research organisation in India, DRDO gives preference to engineers who can understand German, French or Russian so that they can optimally use and decipher manuals and research archives from their allies while working in India. Overall, a lot of us feel the need to explore and learn something new in their leisure time and a foreign language usually quenches that thirst.