Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other believe that it is important f

It has been a general notion that a child should be allowed to make their own choices and be more independent. This, however, does not goes well with a section of people who believe they will become selfish and disregard other’s wellbeing and wishes for their own.

Looking at the merits of letting kids make their own choices in everyday tasks includes them being more organized and proactive. The kids should be held responsible for the choices he makes which will make them more sensitive and responsive towards others. Letting make their own choices also makes a child more involved in a decision making process which will develop his problem solving skills.

Another school of thought is how the children who are allowed to make their own choices grow up to become more self-centred. In the places like supermarkets, a child will pick their favourite food or a video game. Those choices would probably be dictated by the common trends they have been exposed to on the social media and television programming. They will disregard other’s safety and pick the most violent videogame off the shelf just cause it’s mass advertised or not age appropriate.

The author believes every child deserves a right to make their own choices but they are needed to be educated first the consequences of the said choices. They should be taught how the choices they make will affect the people around them. That being said, as long as there is an adult by their side, the kids should be allowed to choose, make mistakes, learn and repeat the whole process all over again.