By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

The execution of capital punishment to the criminals keeps the number of murderers the same in society. This paradoxical situation can only be avoided if they are given life sentences. But do they really deserve to live after committing such heinous crimes!

Countries like Norway and The Netherlands believe in prisons to reform i.e. the guilty steps into the jail to change himself for better. The prisoners are made to understand the seriousness of their crimes and molded into better humans. This, however, works only for few societies. On the contrary, there are also countries like the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia where the rapists are stoned to death in public.

A school of thought is that the death penalty is the easy way out for them. The guilty should not be let off so easy and instead, be allowed to live with the crimes committed and serve penance with hardships every single day for the rest of their lives. On the other hand, some organizations iterate it is better to get rid of them instead of letting them have free food and accommodation funded by the taxpayer’s money.

I believe the law has been brought for fearmongering among the anti-social elements. Its simple math, more serious the crime, harder the punishment for it. Such laws discourage people from taking extreme measures and teach the value of life and the importance of the living.

One can still argue that the death penalty has been on since the ancient times when the Kings used to get their subjects executed and yet the atrocities of criminals haven’t stopped. The convicts are still audacious to take lives. However, I think we should also take the circumstances and the motive into consideration on a case by case basis before handing out death sentences. That said, If the crime is devious, the person should be executed. The world will be a better place without them.