Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The manner in which children have their own right to decide themselves has recently sparked an intense debate. Notwithstanding contested by many people that the matter of allowing children to decide on daily stuff is highly beneficial, others fell that kids, who are allowed to choose what they want, will build up selfish characteristics. This essay will examine both points of view before rendering a plausible conclusion.

On the one hand, some people argue that the benefits of nurturing a child with freedom of making choices considerably outrank its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that children growing up with the right to give their own decisions on everyday basic needs has a better ability to deal with challenges in the following years. According to scientific research, for instance, reported that most of the children, who are empowered to give their choices or opinions in every situation they encounter, might have better results in solving problems than those who are always relied on guidance and never dare to do something out of the box.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often claimed that in fact indulging kids in every aspect of their life will lead to selfish characteristics and supreme personalism later on, which might adversely impact our society. As allowing children to do anything, children usually tend not to pay any attention to other’s needs, they only focus on what they desire and arbitrarily influence on other people’s interests. Researchers from RMIT University, for illustration, reported that Asian children born in an affluent family were raised in an unrestricted environment due to traditional custom and culture, they usually have selfish behaviors as well as fewer contributions to the society.

In conclusion, the aforesaid discussion illustrates how nuances that children were raised, which makes it impossible to offer a certain choice. For me, I personally incline to give children a full right to decide on everyday situations in their life, parent only play a role of orientation and inspiration.