A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A survey suggests that nearly half students in colleges complained that they could not keep pace with other students because the the others had learned additional courses which pave the way for college. In order to successfully address this issue, some people recommend that students should be taught the same curriculum before entering college. From my point of view, this recommendation is justifiable not only because it would ensure the equality of fundamental education, but also because it would be more convenient for universities to assess students' learning ability.

To begin with, there is no doubt that the same national syllabus would make sure every student have learnt the same contents before they enter college. Take China as an example. The fundamental education in the country varies from province to province, which is to say, some provinces such as Jiangsu and Shanghai would even involve Calculus which would not be provided until college for the other areas. Consequently, students who have not got in touch with college Maths sometimes feel college courses too arcane to understand. According to current situation, it is necessary to implement a homogeneous syllabus based on national standard so that even students from those poorly-educated areas would have the chance to learn what has been taught in highly-educated areas. To sum up, the implementation of a national curriculum would ensure the equality of fundamental education in different areas.

In addition, it would also help colleges to assess the learning capability of every student according to the same curriculum so that they could decide which student they should accept. For example, nowadays, colleges would spend days or even months to compare each student based on all kinds of assessments. However, since fundamental schools from each area have their own standards for examination due to different curriculum in distinct districts, it is extremely difficult for universities to establish an unbiased and absolutely object criteria to decide which student is better. If there is a national syllabus for every school to teach the same contents, then the academic assessment in each area could be homogenized. Therefore, universities could make their acceptances largely depend on the same assessment or examination. In short, the same national curriculum would institute the same examination to test students’ academic achievement which would make it easier for colleges to pick up students.

Certainly, some people may argue that a national syllabus would undermine some traditional skills such as knitting which is listed in some remote areas in order to prevent local people forgetting these traditions. However, from my perspective, these skills should be counted as after-school activities and would not be affected by the same curriculum. All in all, the recommendation that a national curriculum should be established would improve fundamental educational system a lot.