The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument concludes that the citizens of Forsythe have become more health conscious based on a survey whose results showed that the citizens are conforming more closely to the government nutritional recommendations. In addition, there was an increase in sales of food products containing kiran while there was a decrease in the sales of sulia. However, though the argument looks cogent at first glance, upon further contemplation, the author seems to base his argument on exceptionable assumptions.

Firstly, the author concludes that the denizens of Forsythe have adopted healthful lifestyles based on the findings from a survey. In doing so, the author fallaciously assumes that the survery was sound enough without any errors. However, this assumption may not be true. It is possible that the sample chosen for the survey was a biased sample and the results of such survey are not characteristics of the population of Forsythe. Furthermore, there is a possibility that the sample size of the survey was not big enough to represent the whole population of the Forsythe. If the above mentioned fallacies are present in the survey, then the author's conclusion is unwarranted.

Secondly, the author claims that the people's reponses in the survey indicate they conform more closely to the government nutritional recommendations. The author speciously assumely that the people who participated in the survey were being honest about their food habits. Perhaps, in order to appear more health conscious to the surveyor, people who participated in the survey responded in such a way that makes them appear more health conscious while in reality, they were in stark contrast. If the above case turns out to be true, then the author's argument does not hold water.

Finally, the author asserts that the sales of food products containing kiran has increasad fourfold. What the author fails to consider is the increase of sales with respect to the population increase rather than considering the food products alone. The author attributes the increase in sales of such food products to the increase in health consciousness among the people. However, there is a possibility the increase in sales is due to the increase in the population in Forsythe while the percentage of people buying such products remain constant. If such scenario has any merit, then the author's line of reasoning is significantly weakened.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as it relies on a series of unwarranted assumptions, which, if does not hold true, would significantly weaken the author's conclusion. The argument would be more convincing if the author takes into account the above assumptions and then present his argument.