The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president, in the memorandum, suggest that they open a new store in Plainsvile ot maximize their profits. He bases his recommendation based the high sales of running shoes and exercise equipment in the area, number of people in the local health club and a fitness program in the schools that require their children to participate in it. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluted, one require further pieces of evidence as explicated below.

Firstly, the vice president fallaciously assumes that the people's penchant for running shoes and exercise in the locality is directly correlated with the consumption of health foods. However, this may not be true. In contrast, there is a possibility that the people, who make sure to stay healthy by exercising regulary, are equally conscious to consume healthy diet. Such practices would obliviate the need for health supplements. Thus, one need to be cognizant of food habits of the people as well in order to appraise the profitability of the store.

Secondly, the merchants reported only the sales of running shoes and exercise equipment but not their usage in the locality. People generally buy exercise equipment enthusiastically but fail to put them to proper use. The reasons for such scenario vary - from lacking sufficient time to exercise to corporate life to losing motivation once they realise the pain that goes into using them. Hence, it is imperative to know if the people who buy exercise equipment are using them to stay fit or they dump the equipment in a store room. If the above scenario has merit, then the author's argument is significantly weakened.

Moreover, the author claims that the local health club has more numbers than ever before. However, the author does not specify the absolute number of people in the club. There is a possibility that the club has only ten members, which is the maximum number since its inception. Additionally, the club might be advocating healthy food over supplements for a healthy living. People generally stigmatize health food with side-effects or unnecessary financial burden. Therefore, one needs to understand the absolute number of the health club as well as the its perception of health food supplements to conclude if the store will be profitable or not. If the health club in the state as described above, the author's prediction that their store would be profitable in the area would fall flat on its face.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is upersuasive as it does not provide any evidence regarding the food habits of the poeple in Plainsville, how often do they use the purchased running shoes and exercise equipment, and the absolute size and the practices of the local health club.