The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human beings are social animals. We love to spend time with others, communicate with others, share and care for others. However, it is not that we like to spend time with whom ever we meet but we are finiky about with whom we want to have congenial relationship. The prompt suggests that we are defined by the social groups with which we identify ourselves. I agree with prompt for the reasons as follows.

Firstly, there is a trite that goes like - "A person's character is the mean of the group or the community to which the person is affiliated to." One need not go any further than our school days to validate the quote.

In a school, we see children forming groups. The children spend their time and play with their own groups and when a new kid comes in, the kid inadvertently searches for a group that is similar to his mores and tries to get close to that group. The teachers can very easily understand the characteristics of each group and when a teacher wants to understand a child, she can just observe the group to which the child belongs and it is not wrong to say that the teacher would get a fair understaning of the child. This is not the case with just the children but we can observe this even in adults, be it employees in an office or be it about friends one chooses. It is the common traits that spur an individual to associate him/herself with a group and one can easily define oneself by idetifying the traits of the group to which he belongs.

The example of Politics is an epitome this phenomenon. In the United States, there are two parties namely - the Democratic Party and the Republican Party. Each party has it own morals, principles and objectives. The people with liberal ideas would like to associate themselves with the Democratic Party while the people with conservative idealogy would like to associate themselves with the Republican party. One does not have to explicitly pronounce his/her political stance to make others comprehend his/her ideology. One can simply proclaim the party the he supports and that will help others understand his dictum better than one would understand if he had explained. This example bolster the statement that we can get a good understanding of what a person by simply observing the groups with with the person likes ot be with.

However, in the rleams of our discussioin, we cannot overlook scenarios where this claim may not hold water. Though people would like to socialize with the like mined ones, it is not guaranteed that they share they same principles as the group. This phenomenon is overt in the field of academia where we see people with contrasting views arguing with each other about various scientific phenomena but would spending time with other undermining each others proofs but at the same time challegning them to batison their argument.

To sum it up, the claim that the we define ourselve primarily through identification with social groups is credible in that the children in the group would like to hangout with only the groups that are similar to their personality and the people would like to support those political parties that have a similar ideology. However, this may not always be true as pedagogies with contrasting views would like to spend time with each other challenging one an other's work and bring the best from each other.