The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author discusses the effect of order of birth on individual's levels of stimulation based on a study of eighteen rhesus monkeys. One can get skeptical about the conclusions drawn from the study as it was conducted on a very small sample. Additionally, the study was conducted on a particular type of species amoung monkeys which precludes the study from applying the same to human beings. The conclusion that the first-time mother monkeys have higher levels of cortisol than otherwise wouldn't have seems spurious for some reasons which we will see in the subsequent discussion

Anyone with a very basic statistic knowledge would argue that the sample size for the study is too small to conduct any scientific study. It is highly plausible that the chosen sample was not a representative sample of the entire population and any conclusion drawn from the study would be applicable only to that sample.

Consequently, any conclusion drawn from the study would not hold true for the population. So we cannot say for sure that in rhesus monkeys, firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol as do their younger siblings.

The firstborn infant monkeys produced up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol as do their younger siblings could be due to exposing firstborn infant monkeys to set of stimulating situations different from those to which younger siblings were exposed. This procedure would introduce bias in the study making the study fundamentally erroneous. It is also possible that in the study, the firstborn infants were compared with younger siblings whose age was obviously lesser. This scenario may not give rliable results.

We should note that the study was conducted on rhesus monkeys. Based on the conclusions drawn from this study, the author has concluded that firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations which is a gaffe. Though monkeys and humans look similar in some ways physically, we should first examine how are humans similar to monkeys biologically. Unless we have sound evidence that humans are biologically similar to rhesus monkey, we cannot expect the same charateristics to be shown by humans as shown by rhesus monkeys.

In the end the author concludes that during pregrancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had several offspring. It could be very well the case that the monkeys with which the first-time mother monkeys had been compared to had low cortisol levels inherently or durnig first pregnancy as well. In such case, it would a gaffe for the author to come to a such conclusion.

As we can see, there can be multiple explainations as to why one can get the stated results as long as we don't conduct a more exhaustive study containing more samples as well as studying how similar are humans are to rhesus monkeys.