Archaeologists have long thought that an artifact called the pemchint was used by Dodecan people solely as a musical instrument. Pemchints consist of hollowed pieces of bone, shell, or wood that are tied together with long straps. When whirled in the air, the pemchints create pleasant tones. Until recently, pemchints were found only at locations known to be used for Dodecan rituals and celebrations. Additionally, they were always excavated in proximity to other musical artifacts. Recently, however, a pemchint was found along with Dodecan hunters' tools located miles from the nearest known Dodecan settlement, while no other music-related objects were found in the area. Clearly, then, the pemchint was used by Dodecan hunters, who most probably used the sounds to repel dangerous wildlife.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that the pemchint, an artifact used by the Dodecan people, was used by the Dodecan hunters probably to intimidate the dangerous wildlife while hunting. The author comes to this conclusion based on an evidence from a recent excavation where a pemchint was found along with the Dodecan hunters' tools. At first glance, though the author's argument seems convincing, upon further contemplation, it is plausible that there could be other reasons as well as to why the pemchint was found along with hunters' tools.

Firstly, the pemchint was found in an excavation far away from the nearest known Dodecan settlement. It is also worhtwhile to note that there were no other musical instrument in the excavation. These facts bolster other explanations more than they strengthen the conclusion that the pemchint was used by the Dodecan hunters'. Given the description of the pemchint in the given argument, one can infere taht it is not very hard for someone to make one even with a mediocore intellectual ability. And since, they can be made with hollow bones and long straps, it could very well be the case that a Dodecan hunter made the pemchint after he gorged on a carnal animal once he became complacent with the meal. It is very common even in the present times to celebrate the outcome of an intense and tiring work with music. Since hunting is a burdensome activity which consumes a lot of energy in such a shor period, the hunters might have felt obligated to celebrate their meal with music.

Secondly, the author clearly mentions that there has been only one such excavation where pemchint was found along with the hunters' tools. Apart from one such excavation, the pemchint was always found along with other musical artifacts. This evidence gives more the reason to believe that the pemchint was primarily used for rituals and celebration rather than being used by the hunters'. Had the pemchint had actually been used by the hunters, then it would certainly be the case that it would have been found more often than not along with hunters' tools and not with the other musical artifacts.

Finally, since the pemchant was primarily used to make sounds and it is imperative to mantain utmost silence during hunting so as not to get detected by the prey by the sound of the pemchint, it is patent that the Dodecan hunters never used the pemchint to aid them in hunting. If the hunters used the pemchint to keep the vicious wildlife away, the sound of the pemchint would equally be heard by the target which would then make the target aware of the hunters and aid it escaping. Hence, it is fatuous to consider that the pemchint was used by the Dodecan hunters while hunting.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive at it relies on very poor reasoning unsupported by considereble evidence. One would be able to better evaluate the conclusion if the author has provided us with sound evidence.