Archaeologists have long thought that an artifact called the pemchint was used by Dodecan people solely as a musical instrument. Pemchints consist of hollowed pieces of bone, shell, or wood that are tied together with long straps. When whirled in the air, the pemchints create pleasant tones. Until recently, pemchints were found only at locations known to be used for Dodecan rituals and celebrations. Additionally, they were always excavated in proximity to other musical artifacts. Recently, however, a pemchint was found along with Dodecan hunters' tools located miles from the nearest known Dodecan settlement, while no other music-related objects were found in the area. Clearly, then, the pemchint was used by Dodecan hunters, who most probably used the sounds to repel dangerous wildlife.

The excerpt argues that the pemchint was a tool used by Dodecan hunters, and hunters used the tool to create sounds repelling dangerous wildlife. The excerpt mentions that the pemchint was firstly regarded as a musical instrument, and it was found in locations where Dodecan people held rituals and celebrations. Also, other musical artifacts were found near the pemchint. However, the discovery of a pemchint found along with Dedecan hunters’ tools implies that this tool was not a musical instrument, especially considering that the place where this tool was found was far away from Dodecan people’s settlement, and no musical instruments were found. Although what the excerpt claims seems logical at first glance, it is actually unconvincing on several grounds.

First of all, the arguer commits a fallacy of hasty generalization. After all, the excerpts mentions that before the new pemchint was found near hunters’ tools, it was often found with other musical instruments for several times. In other words, the new discovery may be just a coincidence, and it was also possible that some Dodecan hunters took the pemchint for entertainment purposes when they hunted animals out of their settlement. In short, finding the pemchint without other musical instruments for just once may not confirm the argument that the pemchint was not a musical instrument.

Secondly, the excerpt neglects other possibilities for the purpose of the pemchint. The excerpt, after claiming that the pemchint was not a musical instrument, hastily concludes that the pemchint was used for repelling dangerous wildlife. However, another explanation is that the tool was used by hunters for other kinds of information delivery. To be more specific, hunters may use this tool to inform other hunters of some information, such as asking other hunters to gather together. Therefore, without ruling out other possibilities of the pemchint’s use, the excerpt may not conclude that this tool was used for repelling wildlife.

Thirdly, One major assumption in short of legitimacy is the function of the pemchint both in the past and in the recent study. It is noteworthy that the pemchint was made of bone, shell, or wood that were tied together, and the tool could create pleasant tones. However, the study in the past did not rule out the possibility that the pemchint was only regarded as an accessory or a decoration of Dodecan hunters, and it is possible that Dodecan hunters just brought the pemchint so that they would have good luck. And the recent study failed to exclude this possibility either. Therefore, the excerpts’ assumption about the use of the pemchint may be fundamentally wrong at the beginning.

In conclusion, the excerpt fails to prove that the pemchint was used by Dodecan hunters for repelling dangerous animals. It is possible that Dodecan hunters took this pemchint by accident for only once. Another explanation is that the pemchint was only an accessory, but not a musical instrument or a tool for repelling wildlife. It is also possible that Dodecan hunters used this tool for their mutual communication, but not for repelling wildlife.