"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

The excerpt assumes that the lifestyles of Forsythe citizens have become more healthier than before. To justify this statement, the excerpt cites a survey which examines the eating habits of the citizens, and a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran also strengthens the statement. What is more, the reduction of sulia’s sale is another evidence that supports the excerpt. Although this excerpt seems logical at first glance, it is actually fraught with vague, unwarranted, and oversimplified assumptions.

As a threshold matter, the conclusion is based on a gratuitous assumption that Forsythe citizens’ eating habits really become better than before. The survey mentioned by the excerpt argues that people comply with governments’ nutritional recommendations better than they did ten years ago, but what if the interviewees of this survey told lies? Actually, it is quite difficult for anyone to precisely recall the memories ten years ago, not to mention the detailed eating habits ten years ago. In other words, what the interviewees claimed in the survey may not be so trustworthy. If the survey can collect more evidence which can correctly reflect how people ate ten years ago rather than just rely on people’s memory, the result will become more persuasive.

In the second place, the excerpt hints that people absorb more kiran, but this fails to prove that people’s lifestyles become really more healthier than before. After all, kiran is only a kind of substance that can function to reduce cholesterol, but reducing cholesterol does not necessarily mean that people’s lifestyles become better. Cholesterol is highly related to disease including obesity and cardiovascular diseases, but if Forsythe citizens do not have such diseases, even if they absorb more kiran, their body conditions will not become better than before. Therefore, if the excerpt can collect more information about the variety of diseases Forsythe citizens get, it may strengthen the conclusion.

Another major assumption in short of legitimacy is the causal relationship between the healthy lifestyles and the decreasing sales of sulia. The excerpt mentions that sulia is a food that most healthy citizens will not eat regularly, but it fails to explain why these healthy citizens do not eat sulia with details. It is also possible that these healthy citizens do not eat sulia just because the taste of sulia is not good, or cooking sulia consumes too much time, as a result of which they do not eat it regularly. Hence, identifying the specific reasons why these healthy citizens boycott sulia will function to substantiate the conclusion.

To sum up, the argument lacks credibility since the assumptions made in the analysis does not lend enough support to the conclusion that citizens’ lifestyles become better in Forsythe. The excerpt lacks the detailed information concerning about the eating habits of Forsythe citizens ten years ago, as well as the reasons why healthy citizens do not eat sulia. Also, the increasing sales of products containing kiran can just imply that people’s disease related to cholesterol may be reduced. In short, if the excerpt can collect and provide more information to answer the issues mentioned above, the excerpt will become more logical and persuasive.