The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

The memo recommends that choosing Zeta is a better option than choosing Alpha for the company’s new project. To strengthen this statement, the memo compares the building constructed by Zeta and the building by Alpha, mentioning that the maintenance fee of the building by Zeta was lower in last year, and the energy consumption was also lower in the Zeta buildings. The little employee turnover in Zeta is also a piece of evidence to prove the excellent of Zeta. Although the recommendation seems logical at first glance, this recommendation is fraught with vague, oversimplified and unwarranted assumptions.

First of all, the comparison in this recommendation is incomplete and selective. The memo mentions that the maintenance expenses of the Zeta building was lower that that of the Alpha building in last year. There is no further information about the comparison of maintenance fees in other years. If last year was the only year when the maintenance fee of the Zeta building was lower than that of the Alpha building, the decision would be totally incorrect. In other words, to justify the recommendation, the memo need provide more statistics about the maintenance expenses of the two buildings in other years.

The memo hints that the Zeta building consumes less energy than its counterpart does every year, but the memo fails to analyze the causes. How much energy is consumed depends on many others, such as the number of people in a building and the habits of people in the building. The memo directly contends that the Zeta building consumes less energy because the people in the building know how to save energy, but another possibility is that the number of dwellers in the Zeta building is much smaller than that in the Alpha buildings, and that is why the energy consumption in the Zeta building is lower. Therefore, the memo must give more information about the specific number of dwellers in the two buildings if it wants to make the recommendation persuasive.

Another major assumption in short of legitimacy is the causal relationship claimed between the low employee turnover rate in Zeta and its excellence. When a company has a low employee turnover rate, there are two possibilities linked with this: one is that the company is so brilliant that employees do not resign, while the second possibility is that employees in this company are not ambitious at all, and they just look for stability. Without more information about how diligently employees of Zeta work, the memo cannot prove that Zeta will be a better option than Alpha for the new building project.

To sum up, the recommendation lacks credibility because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend strong support to what the memo maintains. To better assess the recommendation, the memo must give more information about the comparison of maintenance expenditure of the two buildings in other years. Information about the specific number of people in the two buildings will also be helpful for judging whether the Zeta building behaves better in energy consumption. The low turnover rate in Zeta may not be useful unless we know that employees of Zeta remain ambitious and enjoy working at Zeta.