Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

How governments should allocate their funds remains a controversial debate for so many years, and people have different opinions about whether major cities deserve more funds from governments. The speaker claims that governments should fund their major cities because cities can represent and reflect a nation’s cultural traditions, playing a crucial role in preserving and generating unique cultures. Personally speaking, I agree with this opinion.

There is no denying that suburban and rural areas are no less important than major cities in terms of preserving and generating cultures. Especially with the development of modern agriculture, many towns and counties can demonstrate features of a country. For supporting examples one need look no further than the agriculture in Iraq. Iraq is a country located in the area where water is a rare resource, and to tackle this issue, the government develops overhead sprinkler irrigation and localized drop irrigation, and these techniques successfully help the country reduce the pressure of water resources. In this situation, investing more capital in rural and suburban areas are worthy because towns and counties reflect how the country cherish water resources.

Notwithstanding the reason why towns and counties deserve funds from the government, investment in major cities should not yield to investment in towns and counties. Firstly, there are more cultural heritages located in urban areas than those in other areas in many conditions. The architecture in Barcelona, Spain, can be regarded as a standard exemplification of the importance of funding major cities. A world-renowned architect, Antonio Gaudi, built his artworks in the central district of Barcelona, and his artworks include Sagrada Familia, Casa Mila, and Parc Guell. These buildings are extremely significant cultural heritages for Spain because of Gaudi’s unique artistic style. If the Spanish government did not invest in replenishing these buildings, Spain would lose these heritages quickly.

In addition, major cities also reflect the contemporary cultures of a country. Take tourism as an example. When visitors travel to the United States of America, most of them prefer to visit major cities such as New York or San Francisco rather than some unknown towns and counties. Why? It is because major cities can reflect how people live, and for example, visiting New York will help people understand the urban lifestyle of the U.S.A., while taking a trip to San Francisco allows people to appreciate the technological development achieved by the country. By contrast, for towns and counties, they may represent some traditional cultures, but such cultures cannot depict the current culture of a country.

To sum up, funding major cities should take precedence over providing towns and counties with financial support, because major cities often consist of cultural heritages and highlight the contemporary cultures of countries, while towns and counties’ culture may be too orthodox.