The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier.We therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

In this argument, the arguer recommends using Nosinia to help with the severe allergy symptoms. To justify this recommendation, the arguer cites a research report that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief, which may seem reasonable at first glance. However, with a series of dubious and poor evidences, this recommendation fails to be wholly persuasive as it stands.

A significant problem involved in this [recommendation] is that the arguer simply assumes that Nosinia is more effective than placebo for people who have severe allergies. Obviously, the arguer cannot substantiate this crucial assumption without providing credible evidence. To be more specific, the newsletter did not provide any information that was based on accurate data collection. From my perspective, it is possible that placebo functions better than Nosinia for more people. The newsletter did not mention how they select the participants, and the survey’s sample is not sufficient in size or representative of the quality of Nosinia. For that matter, this survey is not strong enough to establish causation between Nosinia and placebo. Given the above information, it is clear that the author should provide more credible evidence, and rule out other possible alternative explanations in order to strengthen his argument.

Additionally, it’s not safe to unfairly assume without substantiation that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief for the most severe allergy symptoms. Since placebo also has not proved as effective treatment for allergic patients, the credibility of the participants' report is invalid. Thus, we could not conclude that Nosinia is effective based on the participants' report. The author should provide more convincing evidence to support this assumption. Otherwise, there is little chance that this unsolid assumption can be bolstered.

Finally, even if the forgoing assumptions on which the conclusion is based on are reasonable, the argument merely relies on the assumption that participants given Nosinia reported healthier than the participants given a placebo. However, we are not informed with any persuasive and professional evidence. In fact, it could turn out to be the case that the participants given a placebo will report more healthier if a more conductive survey will be addressed. Also, the participants feeling healthier doesn’t mean they become healthier physically. It still lacks evidence to support the results that the Nosinia will make patients more healthier than the placebo. If so, anyone would be reluctant to accept the arguer's recommendation.

To summarize the information I have mentioned above, there are undoubtedly many obvious flaws that need to be marshaled before the proposal can be seriously scrutinized. Otherwise, any impetuous implementation of the recommendation would be unlikely to have the desired consequence. This health newsletter merely provides credible resources or efficient data, which is not qualified to prove the recommendation.