Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

The employment issue has become a problem not only for young graduates but also for the whole society. Many young college students fail to find jobs after graduating from schools, and therefore some people argue that it is better for college students to choose subjects that will help them get jobs rather than choose subjects they are interested in. However, I do not agree with this opinion.

Admittedly, pursuing a high quality of life is the target of many college students, and therefore taking classes that can help them get jobs will help them achieve this goal. Some cold subjects, such as anthropology, can give students the opportunity to broaden their horizons, but such subjects may not be useful when students intend to find decent jobs. By contrast, some courses, such as marketing, are quite popular and accepted by many interviewers, and if students take such courses, they will obtain knowledge which is necessary when they enter the workforce. Nevertheless, even if some practical courses can assist students to land jobs, that should not be the only criterion when students choose what subjects they want to take.

To begin with, interest is the most effective motivation factor for students’ study. When college students are encouraged to take courses that will help them secure employment, their own interests may not be taken into consideration. The result is that when students get bored of the courses they take, nothing will support them to continue their study. In contrast, if students choose subjects actively, at least, their curiosity and enthusiasm will function well when they feel exhausted or bored, and it is noteworthy that such curiosity and enthusiasm are not created by others, but by themselves. Therefore, encouraging students to take courses that arouse their interests will help students continue to study even if they encounter difficulties.

In addition, college students may fail to get jobs even if they take some courses that seem to help them to get jobs. Take the history of beepers, or pagers, as an example. When beepers were developed in the last century, the devices became popular among the public in a short time, and at that moment, knowing how to repair beepers can help people earn a huge amount of money. However, if students really chose to take a course and learn how to repair beepers, before they finished the course, they would find that the first version of the mobile phone appeared as well. Subsequently, in a even shorter time, beepers were replaced by mobile phones. The instance of beepers actually implies that some courses may turn out to be useful at a given time point, but whether these courses will be useful in the future actually remains uncertain.

In conclusion, it is meaningless to encourage college students to deliberately choose courses that will help their employment, because interest functions better than other things in terms of stimulating people to study, and whether those courses will still be helpful when students graduate is also a question.