People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

How to make decisions correctly has always been a difficult problem for human beings. Some people contend that when encountering risky and uncertain issues, individuals must take the consequences into consideration carefully before they make decisions. However, I do not agree with this opinion.

There is no denying that considering possible consequences will effectively help to reduce the possibility of negative results. In the domain of the stock market, for example, it is necessary for investors to take as many relevant factors as possible into consideration before they decide to purchase shares. Earning growth, stability, relative strengths in the industry, debt-equity ratio, dividends are crucial indicators which can reflect the performance of a company, and studying these indicators will consume investors a large amount of time and energy, but in order to avoid economic losses, such research deserves to be done. Notwithstanding the foregoing reason why people should take the consequences into consideration, there are still many situations in which decisions should be made more quickly.

To begin with, in history, there are numerous examples which proves the importance of making decisions efficiently. For supporting examples one need look no further than the Meiji Reform of Japan. When western countries arrived at Japan in the 19th century, the Japanese government was forced to open its border for western people, but the Japanese government successfully made effective use of this opportunity to catch up with the trend at that moment, obtaining more technologies from western countries. Actually, at that time, there was no time left for the Japanese government to examine the possible negative consequences of opening op their country to the world, but the government still decided to do it, and the result is that Japan became a more powerful country, while the Chinese government, on the other hand, decided to violate itself from western countries at that time, and it made China fall behind the world. Therefore, when people face urgent situations, there may be no time for people to balance the drawbacks and benefits, but they still need to act.

When the gains outweigh the risks, it is also recommended for people to take actions without considering all the consequences. Space exploration can be regarded as a standard exemplification of this argument. From the last century, humans began to build spaceships and explore the universe, although the universe remains unknown for humans. Do human beings really consider all the possible consequences of exploring the space? Not necessarily. If spaceships really encountered aggressive aliens, humans and the earth will face the risk of being attacked and even eliminated, but scientists and governments still look forward to doing this task. Why? It is because humans need to find another planet in case that the earth becomes unsuitable for humans to live on in the future. Therefore, if the advantages of doing a risky action obviously surpass the disadvantages brought by it, there is no need for people to examine all the consequences.

To sum up, the speaker’s claim that considering all the consequences before undertaking a risky action may not be so reasonable, especially considering the situations in which people need to make decisions in a short time or the benefits of taking this action significantly outnumber the negative influences.