The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

The speaker argues that people’s greatness may not be recognized and accepted by their contemporaries, and such recognition may only be done in retrospect. However, I do not agree with this opinion. For people who have made great contributions, their achievements can be observed directly and immediately.

There is no denying that history is replete with examples that individuals’ greatness may not be recognized immediately. Taking Claude Monet and his masterpiece, Impression, as an example, Monet was not recognized by the mainstream genre, namely realism, because Monet’s artwork was too abstract without depicting figures in a realistic way as other painters did. It is after a period of time that the public began to realize the value and achievements made by Monet. Similarly, when Sigmund Freud finished his masterpiece, The Interpretation of Dreams, probably no one can fully understand what Freud intended to argue in his book. It was after psychopathology was established that Freud’s value was recognized. Nevertheless, some achievements and greatness can be immediately recognized.

To begin with, in politics, people’s achievements may be identified more quickly. For supporting examples one need look no further than the story of the former U.S. president, Franklin Roosevelt. In the great depression, the former president successfully saved the U.S. economy by enforcing a series of measures, some of which were quite controversial from the perspective of a free-market, but at the end, it was the president who helped the U.S. economy recover gradually, and his greatness was recognized even when he was alive. Another persuasive example is Martin Luther King and his black people movement. Although Martin Luther King was murdered, no one could deny his contributions to the movement of African Americans, and the contemporaries recognized his value without any doubt.

In addition, the key for mutual understanding is not decided by the period of people live in, but by people’s psychological features. For people who have a high level of self-confidence, they may not recognize others’ achievements easily, and such prideful people exist in all periods of times. However, if people have a modest attitude, they will be more prone to find the uniqueness and greatness of others, even if they hold different positions. Before Hong Kong was given back to China, the former prime minister of the UK, Margaret Hilda Thatcher, had severe debates with Deng Xiaoping, the former prime minister of China, and although Thatcher finally conceded, Xiaopeng still recognized her as one of the greatest prime ministers in the world. Therefore, the core factor for recognizing others’ greatness is one’s psychological attitude.

To sum up, people’s greatness and achievements may not be buried and hidden by their contemporaries. Instead, many celebrities’ greatness is recognized even when they are alive, and the key factor to recognizing others’ greatness is how one perceives the ability of himself/herself and the ability of others.