The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing's safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested."

The memo asserts that shortening work shifts by one hour will help the Bulter Manufacturing to improve its safety record. To justify this point, the memo compares work shifts of the company with those of the Panoply Industries, as well as cite a government study to substantiate that lacking sleep is the determining factor for on-the-job accidents. Although what the memo contends seems logical at first glance, its assumptions are actually unwarranted and unpersuasive.

As a threshold matter, the argument is predicated on incomplete and selective comparison between Bulter Manufacturing the Panoply Industries. The fact that workers at Panoply industries have one-hour-shorter work shifts makes the memo believe that employees of Panoly industries do have better rest. Is this the only reason why Panoply Industries have fewer on-the-job accidents? It is also possible that Panoply Industries have stricter safety standards than Bulter Manufacturing does, or employees of Panoply Industries do not need to do heavy work. To better assess the recommendation, the memo should rule out the possibility that Panoply Industries’ better safety records are brought by other factors.

In addition, the statement is predicated on a gratuitous assumption that employees will have better rest by having shorter work shifts. We do not know how employees of Butler Manufacturing spend their leisure time. If all the employees really allocated the extra one hour to rest, it would help employees get rid of fatigue to some degree. However, this change may not work in reality, especially considering the fact that not all employees are willing to spend time on rest. Instead, some prefer to spend time on activities such as participating in parties, and for such employees, giving them extra time for rest will not help them tackle the issue of sleep deprivation. Therefore, shortening the work shifts will probably induce employees to spend more time on recreational activities that make them exhausted rather than get good rest.

In the third place, the memo cites the government study to support the conclusion, but the government study may not be suitable for the Bulter Manufacturing case. We do not know the details of this government study. No information concerning about the sample population is given, and we do not know whether this study is applicable for the whole country or just for a small city. If the on-the-job accidents are not caused by fatigue and sleep deprivation, this government study will be totally meaningless. After all, if Bulter Manufacturing’s products are dangerous products, the number of on-the-job accidents will be much larger than that of on-the-job accidents of light industries. We do not have such information about what Bulter Manufacturing produces. Hence, the memo should provide information about the range of products Bulter Manufacturing offers.

To sum up, the memo hints that lacking sleep and feeling fatigue contribute to the large number of on-the-job accidents at Bulter Manufacturing, while shortening work shifts will effectively help to improve the company’s safety record performance. Obviously, the memo neglects other possibilities in this case. The poor safety performance may be related to the kind of products the company produces. Even if sleep deprivation really leads to job accidents, giving employees shorter work shifts may not necessarily make them have better rest, and some even become more exhausted.