If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Having a goal is crucial for people no matter whether they are young or old, because setting a goal will make people maintain their ambition. The speaker asserts that people should take any means to achieve their goals as long as their goals are worthy and justifiable. Although what the speaker argues seems logical in some conditions, I cannot agree with this opinion, because how to achieve goals is still important.

There is no denying that in some conditions, people are forced to take some radical or extreme means to achieve some goals. Lending even more credence to this statement is the use of nuclear bombs in the Second World War. In 1945, the United States of America put two atomic bombs in Hiroshima and Nagasaki, Japan, and these two bombs caused a myriad of deaths at that moment. Having put these two bombs, the American government was not regretful for using nuclear weapons, because its goal was to end the war and get peace. Although the two bombs murdered thousands of innocent Japanese citizens, the Japanese government was deterred by the nuclear weapons, as a result of which it decided to surrender. The peace of world was brought by the nuclear weapons, which caused numerous deaths. Nevertheless, admitting the justification of some goals is not assuming that people can be free to take any method to achieve their “justifiable” goals.

To begin with, a worthy goal may not become the excuse for people to take immoral or illegal actions in life. Take earning money as an example. Setting a goal of becoming a millionaire is a worthy goal for individuals, but what individuals should do to achieve this goal is to work diligently or use their knowledge and wisdom to find opportunities that are not explored by others. Some lawbreakers also claim that poverty is the reason why they have to break the law and make profit through illegal ways, such as fraud or kidnapping. Therefore, it is important for people to have justifiable goals, and it is also equally important for individuals to achieve their goals without breaking laws, regulations, and moral standards; otherwise, they may be caught by the police and lose their freedom.

In addition, people may not achieve some worthy goals by using some unjustifiable ways. One compelling argument in favor of this argument has to do with the death of Julius Caesar in the history. Marcus Brutus intended to protect the democracy, avoiding letting Caesar grab the power from the country. This goal was quite justifiable because what he intended to protect was not his own benefits. The problem is that Brutus chose to murder Caesar, as a result of which Brutus failed to prevent Rome from being ruled by one person, and Gaius Octavius Augustus finally became the first principal of the Roman empire. Brutus’s behavior made citizens lose their confidence in democracy, and his goal, protecting democracy, was finally ruined by his improper behavior.

To sum up, setting a justifiable goal may not gives individuals the freedom to take any measure to achieve it, considering the fact that some illegal and immoral methods will make people suffer imprisonment or lose reputation. Meanwhile, using inappropriate methods will probably turn the worthy goal into a negative outcome.