Archaeologists have long thought that an artifact called the pemchint was used by Dodecan people solely as a musical instrument. Pemchints consist of hollowed pieces of bone, shell, or wood that are tied together with long straps. When whirled in the air, the pemchints create pleasant tones. Until recently, pemchints were found only at locations known to be used for Dodecan rituals and celebrations. Additionally, they were always excavated in proximity to other musical artifacts. Recently, however, a pemchint was found along with Dodecan hunters' tools located miles from the nearest known Dodecan settlement, while no other music-related objects were found in the area. Clearly, then, the pemchint was used by Dodecan hunters, who most probably used the sounds to repel dangerous wildlife.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

The argument that pemchints is a musical instrument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding the fact that Pemchints were mostly found at places of rituals and celebrations, they were excavated with other musical artifacts and pemchints was used by Dodecan hunters to repel dangerous wildlife. Taken as whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

Firstly, the argument assumes pemchints were musical instrument because they were found at places of rituals and celebrations. True, pemchints might have hollowed bones, shells or wood and when whirled in the air, they might make sonorous sounds. But the fact these instruments are found near places of ritual and celebrations does not make them musical instruments. Pemchints might be other forms of utensils the Dodecans use in eating or might be one of the tools the Dodecans use in appeasing their gods. Nothing in the argument clearly states that pemchints were used as musical instrument at the Dodecans ritual and celebration site. Thus, assuming pemchint is a musical instrument is flawed.

Secondly, the argument assumes pemchints are musical instrument because they were excavate with other musical artifacts. However, pemchints might be used to produce other musical instruments. Since it is exhumed alongside other musical artifacts, it might be a tool used by musical instrument makers to make other musical artifacts. Furthermore, other factors might have led to pemchints being located among these musical artifacts such as flood moving them from their initial site to the site of these musical artifacts. Therefore, assuming pemchint is a musical instrument because it was excavated with other forms of musical artifact is invalid because it was not shown in the argument that pemchints are used by the people of Dodecans to make sound or to compose musical.

Thirdly, the argument assumes pemchints sound was used by Dodecans hunters to repel dangerous wildlife. The hunters might have other means of repeling dangerous animals such as using talisman or camouflaging to dress like these animals. Pemchints might be used for other purposes such as animal traps since these instruments are made with hollowed bones or shells. Additionally, pemchints might be used as utensils by the hunters during their hunting voyage. Ergo, the assumption that pemchint sound is used solely to repel dangerous animals is flawed.

In summary, the argument that pemchint is used as a musical instrument among the people of Dodecan makes numeous unwarranted assumptions that seriously impairs its validation. Unless these unstated assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, archaeologst assuming that pemchints are musical instruments might be misleading.