The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally

well in Waymarsh."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument

The argument that Waymarsh adoption of the policy implemented by Garville city will equally work for Waymarsh makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding the unstated facts about the survey, assuming the policy has led to attrition in pollution level and also, the assumption that commuting times have fallen considerably in Garville. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions renders the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

The first leap in the argument is the assumption that implementing the policy of rewarding people who share rides to work by giving them coupons for free gas which seems to work for Garville will also work Waymarsh. The author failed to consider the government capacity. Government of Waymarsh might not have the capacity to implement this policy. The author also failed to question the type people who share ride to work. There is no evidence in the argument showing that the people who share rides to work are also car owner. Most of the people who share ride to work might not own a car, thus the argument that sharing ride to work will reduce commuting time seems invalid. However, for the argument to be valid, one need to evaluate the evidence that Waymarsh government have the capacity to implement this policy and the evidence that the people who share ride are car owners. if this evidence prove positive, then argument is valid.

Another leap in the argument is the assumption that commuting times have fallen considerably because people of Garville told the author so. This is seriously flawed because the argument does not show the amount of people who gave the author such information. It might be two people who ply the same route and were only cognizant of what happens on the quotidian route the ply, it might be just few people from a neighbourhood in Garville that are not aware of what’s going on in other neighbourhood in Garville. Thus, relying on the fact that people told the author something that is not proven is parlous. The author needs to evaluate the evidence that commuting time have actually reduced in Garville. If this comes out positive, the argument seems valid.

Lastly, the argument failed to show why the policy implemented in Garville city should work for Waymarsh city. As it is seen, all the evidences provided in the argument are only about Garville and no one is connected to Waymarsh. The policy might have worked for Garville pobably because Garville have a fewer population than Waymarsh. Garville city is different from Waymarsh in many facets, so it is not believed that what works for Garville city will definitely work Waymarsh city.

In conclusion, the argument that Waymarsh adopting the policy implemented in Garville will work for Waymarsh makes numerous unstated assumptions that seriously debilitate its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, Waymarsh might be making a major by adopting the policy Garville implemented.