To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Is it possible to say major cities have the important characteristics of a society? What about small cities? Don’t small cities also have characteristics to be studied in oder to understand a society? Well, both small and major cities are to be studied when it comes to understanding the important characteristics of a society.

Moreover, saying only major cities are to be studied when it comes to understanding the most important characteristics of a society simply derides minor cities’ contribution to the society. All characteristics of both cities are important to understand a society. No quality should be considered ‘most important’ or ‘less important. However, talking about characteristics, what type of characteristic are we talking about? Speaking about diversity, art and physical access to facilities of higher learning, major cities should be studied. Major cities consist of different people from different tribes, races and ethnic groups. In order to understand a society based on cultural diversity, major city must be studied. Minor cities only comprise of people with little to no exposure of other ethnic group because of their homogeneous environment.

Also, talking about art, symphonies, galleries, cinemas, and other art exhibitions are found in big cities. Small cities have little access to art in form of high school bands, internet to access arts only, amongst other. Thus, major cities should be studied when it comes to understanding a society’s art life.

Furthermore, when it comes to studying accessibility of higher institutions, major cities are to be studied. Many universities, colleges, polytechnics and other higher academic institutions are situated mostly in major cities. In fact, high school graduates of small cities have to migrate from their cities to these major cities in order to gain physical access to these higher institutes of learning.

However, when it comes to studying altruism and self-sufficiency, minor cities are to be studied. Denizens of small cities help each other in terms of need. The inhabitants of a small city might raise fund to help a family whose child is undergoing an expensive medical surgery. Small city inhabitants even look out for each other by gaurding each other’s properties. This quality of altruism is rarely found in big cities. Also, when it comes to self sufficiency, small cities should be studied as most women are concern with sewing and knitting of clothes and also nurturing of gardens, fathers are jack-of-all-trades as they involve in many activities, children not only focus on school work but also on farm work. Therefore, in order to understand a society’s altruism and self-sufficiency characteristics, minor cities should be studied.

True, one might say major cities are big enough to possess all the characteristics of a society. Some might even go further to cavil that major cities comprise of all the qualities every other small cities possess and so, major cities should be studied. Indeed, these are true to some extent. But consider qualities such as cooperation among people, access to fresh food, and hard work, these two qualities are mostly found in small cities. Major cities rarely possess these qualities. Besides, studying only major cities means one is being biased to small cities. Thus, both cities must be studied to understand the characteristics of a society.

In summary, both major cities and minor cities make enormous contribution to a society. It will be jaundiced to study on major cities when it comes to understand the quality of a society. Also, there are many qualities to be studied, some which are: diversity, altruism, art, self-sufficiency, and many more. Ergo, in order to understand the characteristics of a society, both major and minor cities should be studied.