The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

History is repleted with events of people questioning the authority and these has either yielded a positive result or a negative result. Questioning the authority has - many times - led to riots in which properties are damaged and humans are assaulted. Also, challenging those in power has led to several developments in all facets of life which are seen in the world around us. Thus, people should question the authority to pave way for development in the society.

Moreover, passive acceptance of prevailing theories and principles quells innovation, invention and development. History is fraught with several examples in which the authorities are questioned. One of such is seen in more than a century ago, when Galileo Galilei questioned the belief of the church that the earth is the center of the universe and, that the sun revolves around it. Although this led to the church incarcerating him for defaming their belief, it brought a significant change in the world of science as Galileo Galilei was able to prove the heliocentric theory, thereby changing the popular belief that the earth is the center of the universe.

Another example of the effect of challenging the society is found in art. An established form and style of art must be questioned in order to give way to new and genuine forms of art. Example of challenging the authority in art can be seen in history. One of such include the bee bop musician, Charles Parker who, through his innovative form of harmonies and melodies, questioned the established rule of harmony and melody. Another example include Germany’s Bauhaus school of architecture questioning the indoctrinated rule of public building design. This challenge to authorities in architecture has paved way for the modern design of public building.

Although, some might argue that questioning the authority is perilous as it mostly yield negative denouement. For example, the recent act of protest against the killing of George Floyd by the police. The people were questioning the actions of the police which led to disrespect for criminal law on a mass scale by arson, assaulting and many other dangerous moves by the angry protesters. This is true to some extent, but one need to look at the outcome of the protest. The protest resulted into the police accepting blame for their malfeasance and therefore, apologising to the public and assuring the public that such racial act will never repeat itself.

In conclusion, questioning the authority is necessary for the salient progress of a society. However, questioning the authority might lead to violent actions sometimes, it is needed to enhance the development of a society. Also, questioning the authority should be done in a peaceful manner so as for it to justifiable, to save lives and properties and to lead to a better result.