The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument that modification of all twelve buildings in the sunnyside towers complex will lead to increase in profits and result to considerable savings in water payment each month requires numerous question to be answered to determine its validity. If the answers to these questions strengthen the argument, then the argument is valid. On the other hand, if the questions weaken the argument, then the argument is totally flawed and is considered invalid.

The first leap in the argument is the assumption that the modification of shower heads to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be will result in considerable savings for Sunnyside complex. This assumption is seriously flawed as it neglects other disadvantages that are accrued with this modification. In order to strengthen this argument, the manager needs to ask whether there are no negative effect of this modification which might cause a total discomfort to the residence of the apartment. As it is seen, some residents are already complaining of low water pressure which will cause a delay in their water usage. This modification might, however, lead to the management of the complex spending more on adjusting the pipes to deliver water efficiently to the households and at the same time, save cost.

Another leap in the argument is the assumption that since there are no other problems recorded in the three buildings that are modified, the other eight buildings will also not have problems. This is flawed as no evidence is provided to support this. The manager needs to question the distance of the other buildings from the water source. The currently modified three buildings are facing low water pressure, the remaining eight buildings might not even have any water supply after this modification. Thus, if the answer to the question turn out positively that there won’t be any disturbance in the flow of water into this other eight buildings, then the argument is strengthened. On the other hand, if the modification will lead to a serious stymie in water supply to other buildings, then the argument is invalid.

Lastly, the argument failed to consider other ways of increasing profit and cutting water cost. The high cost of water might be as a result of some pipe outburst in a remote location in the complex, which has in turn, led to waste of water. The manager needs to raise some questions regarding water-carriage around the complex. He needs to question if all conduits are in good position, whether there is no water leakage both in obscured and visible locations of pipes. If it turns out that there is no leakage in the conduits carrying water around the complex, then the argument is strengthened. If, on the other side, there is leakages at some specific points on the pipes, then, the argument is flawed as the manager will need to fix this leakages which will lead to a decrease in water cost.

In conclusion, the argument that modification of all water conduits in the twelve buildings of sunnyside tower complex will lead to reduction in water cost and increase in profit requires some answers to few questions in other to determine it validity. If this answers strengthen the argument, then the argument is valid. if, on the other hand, the answer weakens the argument, then, the argument is totally flawed and the manager might be making a major mistake by modifying the water supply of the remaining eight buildings in the complex.