The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that XYZ should employ Delany Firm and not Walsh Firm creates several problems because it assumes that Delanie Firm is more effective than Walsh Firm and, the laid off employees will benefit more from Delany firm than from Walsh firm. Furthermore, it fails to address discrepancies between the two firms and it omits the following important evidences: Walsh firm might have changed it mode of operation from the way it operates eight years ago, bigger staff and number of branch offices does not indicated the effectiveness of a company.

The first leap in the argument is the assumption that Delanie firm is more effective than Walsh firm because the amount of workers who secured job through walsh firm eight years ago is less than the amount of workers who got jobs through Delanie firm last year. this argument seem flawed because it assumed Walsh firm is still the same as it is eight years ago. Walsh firm might have improve tremendously in recent years, it might even be more productive than Delanie firm in recent years. The argument fails to show the effectiveness of Walsh firm in recent years. Thus, for this argument to remain valid, the author need to contrast the effectiveness of both Delanie and Walsh firm in recent years.

Furthermore, the argument assumes Delanie is superior because of its larger number of staffs and many branches of offices. The argument failed to show the amount of staffs in Walsh firm. The argument also failed to provide the amount of branch offices both companies have. Delanie might have just 1 more branch office than Walsh. And also, Delanie’s larger number of staffs might not be as effective as Walsh less number of staffs. Thus, the author need to show the effectiveness of both company regardless of staff population and number of branch offices.

Finally, the argument assumes that those who get job quickly last year was as a result of them using Delanie Firm. This sounds weak as there might be other factors that led to these employees getting job faster than their counterparts. The demand for employees for some particular post is much more than the demand for employees in other staff. As result, the employees who get jobs quickly are those whose jobs are in great demand. For this argument to be strengthened, the author need to provide the evidence that the employees who get job earlier than their counterparts are actually as a result of Delanie firm’s effect and not some other factors.

In conclusion, the argument that company XYZ should hire Delany firm and not Walsh firm makes numerous unstated assumptions that seriously enervate it validity. Unless these assumptions are considered, the argument totally fall apart. Thus, company xyz might be making a major mistake by hiring Delanie firm