Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Does formal education restrain our minds and spirit rather than set them free? Some people think of formal education as a bad tool that restrains the minds and spirits while some feel formal education is best tool to free the mind and spirit. Though, to some extent, formal education tend to restrain the mind. But on a wider view, one realize that formal education frees the mind and spirit more than it tend to restrain the mind.

Formal education has revealed many secrets of earth to humanity. Several mysteries of the world are solved with former education. For example, the recent outbreak of corona virus pandemic was rapidly contained by researchers who were able to proffer solution to curb the spreading of the disease. Though, these researchers are still trying their best to provide solid solution, but with the little they’ve done, the pandemic was confined to some extent. This was possible because of formal education these researchers have had. formal education gave these researchers the knowledge required to provide solution to outbreaks which saved human from wipeout. On the contrary, some argue that formal education confines the mind to a set of knowledge and hinders versatility. This is true to some extent but this confinement has led to the creation of experts that handle situations effectively.

Furthermore, formal education provide courses that frees the mind and spirit rather than restrain the mind and spirit. The science field is fraught with several courses such as physics, biology, chemistry, geography and many more that opens the mind to the knowledge of the environment, knowledge of one’s body system, knowledge of what the world is made of, among others. These courses has helped free our mind and spirits rather than confine them. However, some would quibble that formal education does not expose the mind beyond these curriculums. They argue that formal education only set children to one pattern of knowledge when several forms of knowledge are available to be acquired. This is true to some extent but these courses contained deep knowledge of what they cover and are sufficient enough for a student. Trying to inculcate several knowledge into a student will lead to such student not getting well versed in a particular field but having meagre knowledge in unrelated fields, thereby making such student to be unproductive.

Also, some will argue that formal education makes the acquisition of other knowledge hard or nearly impossible as one will be filled with several knowledge in a particular field. This, however, might be true, but formal education makes the acquisition of other knowledge easier as one will have the basic requirement for acquisition of knowledge, which is better communication and how to read and write. With the knowledge of effective communication and how to read and write, one can become well versed in other careers apart from one’s main field. For examples, the world is presently filled with people that engage in several jobs such as an engineer that is into computer program, a lawyer who is also a data scientist and many others. This is only possible because of formal education.

In conclusion, formal education plays a major role in freeing human minds and spirits rather than restraining the minds and spirits. The effect of formal education is seen in the world today as it has made the world a more convenient place for humanity to live and exposed several secrets of the world to human.