Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Does yielding to public opinion makes a leader more effective or does committing to particular principles make a leader more effective? Different factors contribute to making a leader effective. Some of such factors include good judgment, perspiracity, good and rapid decision making, yielding to public opinion in order to gratify the will of the people and simultaneously remaining committed to particular principles and objectives. Thus, though a leader must yield to public opinion, such leader must not totally neglect his principles as neglection of his principles makes him look and indecisive. On the other hand, a leader must not also be totally committed to his principle as such act turns him to a despot.

History is repleted with several leaders who were totally committed to their principles and objectives and leaders who yield to public opinion at the expense of neglecting their principles. Leaders like Genghis Khan of China, Adolf Hitler of Germany, Sanni Abacha of Nigeria and Idi Amin of Uganda all cleaved to their principles and objectives. These leaders never seek consensus from the general public as they rule base on their own judgment. These act of blind ruling turned these leaders to despot as most of their judgments tends to chafe the masses. On the other hand, leaders who totally seek consensus rather than remaining committed to particular principles are seen as weak and vulnerable leaders as it turns out that they are unable to make decisions by themselves.

Furthermore, a leader must yield to public opinion so as serve his constituent. But not at the expense of totally ignoring his principles. The society is fraught with different classes of people. We have the caste, the bourgeosie, and the plebeians. Also, we have people with different occupations. These different attributes of the society makes people have different needs. This In turn, makes the judgment of a government to favor some people at a particular time and discomfort some at the same time. When this happens, it is the leader’s principle and objective that will guide the leader on how to make things right.

True, some societies requires a leader to be totally committed to a particular objective if the leader’s objective mostly favors the society. Also, some other societies require leaders yield mostly to public opinion. But too much these act makes the leader a stark leader or turns the leader to an indecisive. Thus, both act must be utilized in order to make a leadership.

In conclusion, a leader must yield to public opinion and not abandon his principles and objectives becauses both act leads such leader in making good judgments. Yielding to public opinion turns the leader’s listening hear to the public outcry while applying some forms of principles and objectives make him take precise decisions that he deemed fit for the public. Thus, for the progress of a society, a leader must apply some form of principle and objectives when listening to the needs of the society