College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Should college student base their choice of field of study on the availability of jobs in that field? There are numerous factors which student can base their choice of field of study on. Student can opt for a career base on the student’s interest, the student’s intellectual and financial capacity and many others. However, student opting for a course on the availability of jobs in that career sounds good, but this is relatively parlous as student does not know the future of jobs in the career. The jobs the student foresighted today might not be available anymore when such student graduates.

Student selecting a course base on the availability of jobs in that field does not seem feasible as there is no assurance the job will still be ready by the time the student graduates. Demand for employees in specific jobs ebbs and wanes. Nobody can make a precise prediction of the future of a job. take for instance, student opting to study education because most present teachers in the state are retiring soon and the state will be recruiting more individuals into the vacant post. On student’s graduation, economic recession sets in. current teachers are displaced and their posts are quashed. Fresh graduates and displaced teachers are stranded with unemployment. Ergo, student selecting a field of career base on the job availability is a very dangerous move.

Furthermore, student selecting a course by weighing the job availability in such course seems bleary as such job might not exist upon the student’s graduation from college. For example, student selecting a course of study because the classifieds are fraught with job advertisement. This seems dangerous because the present vacant posts in the job will be filled by present job-seekers. Thus, the job might not even be available anymore when such student reaches half of his or her study.

True, selecting a field of study based on the availability of job in such field might be a good idea. Take for instance, student opting to study computer science because of the present massive job availability in the field. This sounds good as there is tendency of such student getting job upon graduation. But at the same time, this idea isn’t salubrious as there will also be numerous numbers of student studying such course because of the availability of job in the field. Thus, there is tendency that there might be much qualified graduate competing for minimum post in such field.

In summary, student selecting a field of study base on the availability of job in such field is dangerous as there is less chances of the job being available when the student completes his or her study. Request for employees in a particular job decreases gradually on a daily bases. Therefore, student should base their selection of a field of study on their interest. Student selectting a field of study base on interest will make such student to be fully engulfed with his student, thereby making such student a competent, innovative and independent professional.