Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they

are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Educational institutions are citadels of knowledge which have the responsibility of training individual to become better professionals in their chosen career path. However, some argue that these institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which the students are unlikely to succeed. Some other people argue au contraire that education Institutions does not have the responsibility of guiding students on fields they are unlikely to study. Although, it is not the main responsibility of educational institutions to provide hortatory to students concerning their field of study, it is necessary for these institutions to guide the students so as for the true purpose of education to be served.

True, there are several benefits accrued with colleges and universities dissuading student from pursuing career paths in which they are unlikely to succeed. One of such benefits is that this guidance helps students focus on their strengths an weaknesses. For instance, a student who choses to study maths but have little understanding of statistics, probability and other maths topics. When university assess this student on maths and other courses, university will realize such student is weak in maths but strong in other courses like English. So as to avoid wasting such student’s time, resources and efforts, it is best for the university to dissuade such student from studying math but consider to consider studying english in which he or she is likely to succeed most.

Furthermore, apart from discovering the student’s strengths and weaknesses, colleges advising student against opting for courses in which they are unlikely to succeed helps colleges from wasting their time, efforts and resources in training students that are unlikely to succeed. For example, a college training student a student on computer programming with such student having little to no knowledge about programming but having vast knowledge on entrepreneurship will lead to such college wasting its efforts and resources on training students that are unlikely to succeed in the programming course. If such college should evaluate the student and find out that the student has more knowledge in entrepreneurship than in programming, and advise the student to study entrepreneurship, this will lead to the college’s resources being used appropriately. Thus, true purpose of education will be served.

On the other hand, some believe that colleges and universities have no business with dissuading student from courses in which the student are unlikely to succeed. They could argue further by saying students might have interest in the field, and therefore, such students would develop themselves as they progress in their study. This is true to some extent. But courses don’t get easier as student attain higher level in them but get complex. Thus, it will be hard for such student to cope if the student have no strong foundation. This will in turn, lead to both university and student wasting their resources, time and efforts.

In conclusion, educational institutions should dissuade students from culling field of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Though, this is not the main onus of the institutions, but for true purpose of education to be served and to make proper use of both the institution and student time, efforts and resources, this has to be done.