We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discounting the children’s book section, which will be probably becomes less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café.

The argument that Monarch will attract more customers and compete with Regal Books makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding Monarch opening a café in its book store. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. As a result, some questions requires answer to determine the validity of the argument. Indeed, if these answers are not genuine, the argument totally falls apart.

The first leap in the argument is the assumption that Monarch, which is widely known for books, will attract more customers by opening a café. The author leaves several questions unanswered by concluding that opening a café is salubrious for Monarch. Some of the questions include whether there is no other café around the book store, are the people in Monarch’s location interested in more café? Monarch is widely known for books, are the customers interested in café as well? Will Monarch Café product be alluring enough to attract more customers? Unless answers are provided to these questions, Monarch opening a café in its bookstore might oust it customers and not attract more customers.

Another leap in the argument is that it assumes the children book section will soon go into extinction because of the statistics of the national population census. This assumption seems flawed because it omits some questions. The questions include: what is the exact amount in the decrease in children’s population? Does the bookstore only have books for children below ten years? What of books for children above ten years? Are they not also in the book section? Besides, the population census was nation wide, and not only in the bookstore’s geographical location. Can the result of the census be seen in store’s location? Are there fewer children in the store’s location than in other part of the region? Unless these questions are addressed, the assumptions that the book store will go into extinction soon does not seem valid.

Finally, the argument assumes that what worked for Regal book store will work for Monarch bookstore. This assumption is flawed because some questions are left unattended to. These questions include: what are the aftereffects of Regal’s new café on its business? Do people still patronized the store as usual? Has the café being able to attract more customers to Regal store or it has been the other way round? Also, Regal might be located in a region where café is in high demand. Is Monarch located in a region where café is in high demand as well? Does Monarch and Regal conduct business in the same way, which makes the author feel what works for Regal will also work for Monarch? In conclusion, these questions requires answers to determine the strength of the argument.

However, for the argument to remain valid; to determine if Monarch’s opening of café is healthy for it business, monarch bookstore management need to answer several questions regarding it location, its customer’s inclination to café, the demographic trend of children in its region and Monarch mode of operation when compared to that of Regal. If the answers to these questions come out positive, then Monarch might gain more from opening a café. But if the answers given are negative, Monarch might be driving out it current customers and not attracting more customers.

In summary, the argument that Monarch will compete with Regal Books and attract more customers by imitating Regal bookstore in opening a café makes numerous unstated assumptions that seriously impaired its validity. Unless these questions are answered and the answers are attributed to the Monarch’s business, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, Monarch bookstore might be making a major mistake by doing by opening a café.