The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The manager of KNOW radio station comes to a conclusion that broadcasting 24-hour news rather than rock-and-roll music on the station would be more profitable for the company. He comes to this conclusion as there is a decrease in the total number of listeners for the radio station, there is a drastic increase in the number of people over fifty years, there is a decrease in sales of rock-and-roll music in the music stores, and continous news radio stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, one would require answers to the following questions.

Fistly, do the people in the listening area like to hear news? In other words, is it garuented that the people in the listening area who are mostly over fifty years of age listen news? It is possible that most of the people though over fifty years of age, will be busy with their office work during the day and will be busy their family during the night. Hence, their busy schedule can preclude them from listening news over the radio. If this is the case, then the manager's decision to switch to continous news station may not be as profitable as the manger thinks.

Secondly, are there any other sources of news in the locality? It is very common in this world of technological boom for the people to have access to news in various forms namely - newspapers, mobiles, Youtube and last but not the least, television. There is every possibility that the people in the listening area use one or the other form to keep abreast of the latest news. If this turns out to be true, then the author's conclusion that streaming news 24-hours will be lucrative is significantly weakened.

Finally, does streaming news on 24-hour basis costs the same as playing rock-and-roll music? It is overt that playing music over the station requires little expertise and resources. However, to run a continous news station, one would require to first collect the news from the ground or from various sources, preprocess it to bring it to a presentable form and finally, news anchors to present it. Considering there is a lot more logistics involved in running a news channel, it may not be viable option to make good amount of profit. There is a possibility that this could be the case and this would considerably weaken the manager's argument.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unreasonable and unpersuasive due to its reliance as the manager does not include any information pertaining to the question posed above. One would be in a better postion to evaluate the argument if the manager can provide answers, perhaps, in the form of findings from a research or a survey.