There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that the relaxed pace of life in small towns plays a vital role in promoting better health and greater longevity than those people who live in big cities with hectic pace of life. He comes to this conclusion based on the following evidence - individual workers take fewer leaves in the small town Leeville than their counterparts in the nearby large city Masonton, proportion of physicians to residents is lesser in Leeville as compared to that of Masonton, and finally, the average age of residents of Leeville is considerabley greater than those living in Masonton. However, there could be alternate explanations that would account for these marked differences which could weaken the author's conclusion.

Firstly, the author states that the workers in the small town Leeville take fewer leaves than those in the nearby large city Masonton. However, there is a possiblity that there is no adpet system in place in the town to keep a track of the leaves taken by the workers rigorously. In the absence of such a system, the number of leaves stated will be erronous and will not be a representative of the actual number. Thus, it is not warranted to compare the number of leaves taken by the workers in the town with those living in the nearby city Masonton. If this turns out to be true, the author's conclusion that people in small towns lead a healtheir life is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author asserts that since the ratio of physicians to residents is lesser in the town as compared to that of the nearby city, people in towns have better health. However, though convincing at first glance, this evidence could be spurious in indicating the health of the people. It is plausible that since the population is towns is generally much lesser than that of cities, there will be need of fewer physicians in towns than that of cities. Moreover, people in the cities will have better means for visiting physicians than those of the people living in the towns. Therefore, more physicians are entailed in cities and hence, the physicians-residents ratio is higher in cities. As a result, this scenario siginificantly weakens the author's conclusion.

Finally, the author cites the difference in the average age of people living in towns and cities to support his conclusion. However, this evidence seems to be fallacious inasmuch as the author does not provide any information about the distribution of age in towns and cities. The arthemetic average has the tendency to get affected by the extreme values. It could very well be the case that there are a few folks in the town whose age is far above the average and hence, the average seems to be higher in the town as compared to the city. If this is the case, the author's argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as it rests on a series of facts and figures that would have alteranate explanations.