The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter comes to a conclusion that trout is responsible for the decrease in the number of species as well as the decrease in the number of amphibians for the remaining species in Xanadu National Park. However, to correctly attribute this decrease to the introduction of trout in the national park in 1975, one would require the following pieces of evidence.

Firstly, what was the methodology that was used to count the number of amphibians in 1975? One would require to know the actual methodology that was used in 1975 to ascertain if the population of the amphibians in the national park was correctly recorded without any discrepancy. There is a possibility that the methods used in 1975 were not technically sophisticated and carried in them an innate fallacy. Thus, one was able to record more number of amphibians then they actauly were. Further, those naive methods might have identified seven different species when there were only four different species. If either of the case is true, then the author's conclusion that there is a decrease in the number of amphibians is significantly weakened.

Secondly, does the national park has the same number of ponds that it had in 1975? The author prematurely assumes that there has been no decrease in ponds in the national park while there is a decrease in the number of amphibians. However, that assumption might not be true. Perhaps, there has been a decrease in the number of ponds in the national and that could be the reason for the decrease in the amphibian population. Further, the area of the national park might have been reduced for economic development of the region and this lead to the removal of ponds that used to have amphibians in large number. If the above scenarios have any merit, the author's argument does not hold water.

Finally, does the trout that was introduced into the natioal park feed on the eggs of the species present in the national park? The author only mentions that the trout feeds on the eggs of the amphibians. However, the author's explanation seems to be ambigious as the author does not confirm if they feed on the eggs of the species present in the national park. There is a possibility that though the trout feeds on eggs of amphibians, it has antipathy towards eating the eggs of the species present in the national park. If that is the case, then the author's conclusion that the decrease in the population of amphibians is due to the trout is spurious.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unwarranted as it does not provide further evidence that will help us to properly evaluate the conclusion. One will be in a better position to evaluate the argument if the author can provide further evidence, perhaps, in the form of a schematic study.