The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of co-education, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The president and the administrative staff of Grove College recommned that they uphold their century-old tradition of all-female eduation to improve the morale among students and to receive financial support from the alumnaedespite the majority of the faculty voting in favor of co-eduation. They suggest this based on a survey in which more than eighty percent of the participants wanted all-female education as well as based on another survey in which over half of the alumnae opposed coeduation. However, before the recommendation can be properly evalauted, one would require answers to the following questions.

Firstly, are the results from the survey conducted by the student government representative of the school population. The author does not provide any details about how the survey was carried out. There is a possibility that the sample chosen for the survey was a biased sample and hence, most of the participants in the survey favored for all-female education. Furthermore, it is possible that the sample size chosen was not big enough to represent the entire school population. If the mentioned fallacies are present in the survery, then the author's line of reasoning is sigificantly weakened.

Secondly, how many of the alumnae who favored all-female education support the college financially? The author prematurely assumes that implementing co-education would decrease the financial support from the alumnae. However, there is a possibility that very few alumnae who favored all female education support the college financially. On the other hand, it is possible to increase the financial support from the alumnae if co-education is implemented in the college as there is another half of the almnae who are not against co-education and everyone is willing to support the college financially. If this turns out to be true, the author's plan to keep the financial support by the alumnae unabated falls flat on its face.

Finally, what is the motive behind the majority of the faculty supporting co-education? Since the facutly is intellectually sound as well as they are the ones who interact with the students the most, it would be fatuous to shrug off their opinion. Perhaps, they feel that the students get to learn better in a co-education environment than in an all-female milieu. In a co-education system, students get to view a subject from different perspectives which enhances their knowledge. If such is the thought process in the minds of the faculty, then the author's insistence on would do more harm to the students than good.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as the author do not provide any details addressing the above posed questions. One will be in a better position to evaluate the argument if the author can furnish information that would help answer the above questions in a detailes manner leaving no room for ambiguity.