The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

We try to guage the development of a nation based on various factors like - literacy rate, access to basic healthcare facilites, general well being of its people, success of its rulers, artists or scientists, etc. The prompt suggests that the greatness of a nation can be appriased by the general well-being of all its people not just based on the prosperity of its rulers, artists or scientists. I agree with the prompt and feel that it is the lives of all the people of a nation that gives a true picture of the nation for the following reasons.

Firstly, given a nation, the number of its rulers, artists or scientists is picayune as comapered to the whole population of a nation. Hence, this pittance group of successful people are not a represntative of the whole nation. It is highly likely that the afore mentioned group of people, due to their means, popularity and adeptness, are able to lead a luxuriant life without having to think about their livelihood. However, this may not be the case with its general population. In stark contrast, the commonman would have to do arduous tasks everyday to earn their bread and butter, to send their children to school so that they can have better future, or have to walk miles to have basic amenities with healthecare or drinking water. And to underscore, a nation is primarily composed of general population and not just its leaders, artistis or scientists. Therefore, It the conditions of the general population that determines the development of any nation.

Secondly, the rulers, artistis and scientists of a nation are able to do what they do partly due to the previlages they are born with. A person is able to become a ruler may be because he/she was born into a family that is associated with politics for generations. A person is able to become an artist may be because he/she is born into a family that is providential and his parents do not have to think about how to survive but rather think about how can they make best out of their lives. Similary, a person is able to become a scientist for his/her parents have the financial ability to support him/her for a long academic training. However, this is not the case with rest of the people in a nation. There will be myraid of poeple who live below poverty line, performing hard and mundane works to make their living everyday. Thus, it is fatuous to consider a nation successful based on the achievements of its rulers, artists or its scientists as they might have been lucky to be in a position where they are and need not necessarily be to the encouragemnet by the government.

However, there might be an exception, which, in the realms of our discussion, cannot be ignored. If a country is able to produce successful leaders, artists or scientists in considerable numbers consistently, one can consider that nation to be successful.

Thus, it is imperative to determine the development of a nation based on the general well being it people as they form the majority of the nation and they might not be as lucky as its rulers, artists or scientists.