The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today’s fast paced world, most of the developing countries all around the globe are moving along with their rapidly growing technologies. Most of the politicians in the countries surely support these advents of the technologies. They truly encourage scientists for new innovations and inventions nowadays. Additionally, other group of people who help to reflect the real picture of societies are artists like poets, celebrities, writers. I mostly agree with the author of the prompt that the country is considered a great one when it surely possesses the overall progress at all levels such as social, economic, and political. But at the same time, the ultimate goal of the progress wholistically can be seen as a well-being of the ordinary people living in the country. I would like to support the same with two major reasons.

First, the nation is made by all the people living there from different cultures, diversities, and ethnicities. So, only success of couple of fields cannot be considered as a great marker of a successful country. I would like to elucidate it with the example from the past, Adolf Hitler was a rude but successful ruler from the history of Russia and Germany. He was greatly appreciated for his elocutions to spread his strong opinions about Nazism. Youth of the country was galvanized with his speeches. But at the same time, though his achievements were great as a leader, country was not considered as great. The only reason I could see that he was from a dictatorship ground and ordinary people were unable to follow him as many rules are against general well-being of humanity.

Secondly, though the success from different fields is appreciable at global levels, if the people living in the societies are not able to use those facilities to make progress in their lives, then I believe surely, it can’t be considered as a successful country. For instance, in India, during Pandemic in 2020, Nation’s politicians actually backed up the inventions to find out effective but affordable vaccines. Scientists from Bharat Biotech and other institutes found vaccines Covisheild and Covaxin, which ordinary people can afford on large scales, even in rural areas of the country. So, this example can show that the end goal of the achievements should be wellbeing of people, not just successful invention. It indicates that the greatness of the country depends on inventions converted into facilities from people.

Thirdly, if I consider artists such as filmmakers or celebrities from movies, they can clearly reflect the social problems in their films, which is helpful to initiate a change and give away a powerful message to the society. For instance, the film, Kashmir Files, though the film is appreciated at different film festivals by critics, people from different societies in the country could censure it because it openly shows casteism related problems in India. Hence, though artists are successful, the society can’t be, as far as greatness is considered.

To conclude, I can agree on the statement that the successful stories of its rulers, artists, or scientists certainly help to understand the greatness of the country but the general well-being of all the people living there can be the important indicator for it.